Presented by Marie Casey
I am originally from Long Island, New York…lived in New Jersey, Ohio, Texas, California, Mexico…..now splitting time between Truckee and Cabo.
Early years- big sports  enthusiast - tennis, softball, soccer, scuba diving…later years skiing, golf, kayaking
Active in Junior Achievement as a student….later years active volunteer as JA mentor.
I am a bit if a math and science geek…got my undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering in Houston (oil industry)
Spent summers doing office assistant work and as field engineer trainee  for a pipeline location company….only female in 100’s of miles for several months on Gulf Coast jobs and learned alot about field work and interacting with the locals. 
Once I graduated, I was employed as sales representative with IBM, attended Harvard Business School as part of IBM executive program, and ultimately achieved global VP level managing diverse teams.
 
On the personal side :
Married my high school sweetheart, David, who is from England.
My daughter, Kathleen, is 25 and working as a PR consultant in the Bay Area. Funny factoid, we had 9 aupairs from around the world join our family when our daughter was young, hosted several of their families to visit us, our daughter was since in 3 of their weddings.
At 91 years old, my mom Claire, is living nearby in Reno independently at 5 Star Senior Residences and continues to be a role model of survival and how to celebrate life.
Passion for cooking, gardening, home remodeling, global travel
Bought a home in Mexico 8 years ago, was on House Hunters International which was great fun, drive the Baja Peninsula frequently with two fur babies in tow
 
How did I come to join this group ?
I attended the Wine Fund Raiser last year as a guest…over did it with auction bids.
Then participated in Toys for Tots Drive last year and felt compelled to join this wonderful group.
I felt I could contribute more to the Truckee community and, in particular, I see the need to put more emphasis on the needs of women and girls to achieve their full potential. I was lucky to have a strong family support system as well as a company looking to promote women and minorities that allowed me to achieve and excel in what was a male dominated environment. My professional success came thru hiring, mentoring, and building diverse teams. I hope to leverage these experiences to elevate the lives of other women.
Sponsors